Jessica McLain

Happy Fathers Day!

(I will be posting my bday blog as soon as I have more pics uploaded!)

*•*Original post is here on my old blog….
http://jessicamclain.wordpress.com/2010/06/17/song-for-dad/


Here is the ad I posted last year in the Daily Journal for Father’s Day! It ran on Sunday–June 20, 2010!


My father is THE greatest man I have and will ever know. (My husband comes in a very close second!) Dad has been a steady rock at times when I needed stability, a warm embrace when I needed comfort, a healing hand when I needed fixing, and good advice when I most definitely needed guidance!

Without my Dad I know I would not be the musical person I am today. Without my Dad I would still be thinking that the only Toto in the world was Dorothy’s little dog. Without my Dad I would still be thinking that the only Lionel in the world was the little kid with a blanket in the Peanuts gang. Without my Dad I would not have anyone to sing with on long road trips…. (We can, without a doubt, rock out to the duet “Make No Mistake, She’s Mine” by Ronnie Milsap and Kenny Rodgers!!!! ha!)

My Dad is the epitome of a hard worker. I guess that’s where I get my perfectionistic, Type A, personality. He’s instilled in me all of his best qualities…courageous, goal setter, strong, 110% percent, positiveness, leader, dignity, fair, honesty, truthfulness, morals… I could go on and on!

People told this to me while I was dating… “Jess, you cannot think that every guy out there is like your dad… They are NOT!” Well, now I can say that I have found the closest man having most of my father’s characteristics! I am a very lucky gal!

I could not have a post without a song attached… So, the song that expressed my feelings the best is Keith Urban’s Song for Dad, because I do hope that….everyday I see a little more of my father in me!

Happy Father’s Day Dad! I love you soooo much!

Song for Dad
Keith Urban

Lately I’ve been noticing
I say the same things he used to say
And I even find myself acting the very same way
I tap my fingers on the table
To the rhythm in my soul
And I jingle the car keys
When I’m ready to go
When I look in the mirror
He’s right there in my eyes
Starin’ back at me and I realize

The older I get
The more I can see
How much he loved my mother and my brother and me
And he did the best that he could
And I only hope when I have my own family
That everyday I see
A little more of my father in me

There were times I thought he was bein’
Just a little bit hard on me
But now I understand he was makin’ me
Become the man he knew that I could be
In everything he ever did
He always did with love
And I’m proud today to say I’m his son
When somebody says I hope I get to meet your dad
I just smile and say you already have

The older I get
The more I can see
How much he loved my mother and my brother and me
And he did the best that he could
And I only hope when I have my own family
That everyday I see
A little more of my father in me

He’s in my eyes
My heart, my soul
My hands, my pride
And when I feel alone

And I think I can’t go on
I hear him sayin’ “Son you’ll be alright”
Everything’s gonna be alright”
Yes it is

The older I get
The more I can see
That he loved my mother and my brother and me
And he did the best that he could
And I only hope when I have my own family
That everyday I see
Oh I hope I see
I hope everyday I see
A little more of my father in me

A little more of my father in me
I hope everyday I see in me
In me
In me
I hope everyday I see

A little more of my father in me

This entry was published on June 19, 2011 at 2:36 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

