Jessica McLain

First 2 weeks of motherhood…

Motherhood… before having Ryp I had no idea of what to expect when I became a momma… Aside from it being so rewarding, motherhood is tough! Constant worrying, mental and physical exhaustion, lack of sleep… etc… Yes people try to advise you and warn you for the tremendous change about to happen in your life, but nothing can prepare you.

We came home 2 days after I gave birth… my mom stayed with us the first 3 nights and kind of coached us along. Thank God for her! I am nursing and its going wonderfully! He latched on from the first time at the hospital and has been doing great ever since! I also pump as much as I can to get some supply up and so Chris can feed him too. I did have some emotional moments the first week home. As Andrea warned me, it feels kind of like you are mourning your life before… eventhough you know you have a miracle with you now, you know it will never be the same… That has gotten better. Lol… The Monday after I had him we went to the pediatrician.  I had some anxiety since it was our first outing. He did great! He weighed 7lbs 9oz (more than his birth weight… so no weight checks!) And no jaundice… everything looked great! He even lost his umbilical chord within the first few days of being home!

Week two did get a lil easier… we are now into a routine… eating about every 3-4 hours… I got out of the house to watch Twilight with Andrea and then went out on a date with Chris … that was nice! I took ryp out by myself last night to go to my aunt deedee’s… since it is now bball season and Chris is at practice or games late. Things are starting to feel normal.

Keep us in your prayers.

(Pics below are me at 2 weeks postpartum … and family pics by kc photography.. )

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

 
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

This entry was published on November 30, 2011 at 5:24 pm and is filed under Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

